President Trump Announces New Sanctions Against Turkey

Published by Matt Fishman on

President Trump has issued an Executive Order authorizing the imposition of sanctions against current and former officials of the Government of Turkey and “any persons contributing to Turkey’s destabilizing actions in northeast Syria.” The President pointed towards the recent “actions by the Government of Turkey to conduct a military offensive into northeast Syria” as undermining “the campaign to defeat [ISIS]” and posing a “threat to the national security and foreign policy of the United States.” In accordance with the Executive Order, the US Departments of State and Treasury announced new sanctions would be levied against the Government of Turkey’s Ministry of National Defence and the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources, as well as the Minister of National Defence, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, and the Minister of the Interior. President Trump commented he has “been perfectly clear with President Erdogan… [that] Turkey must ensure the safety of civilians, including religious and ethnic minorities, and is now, or may be in the future, responsible for the ongoing detention of ISIS terrorists in the region.” Trump says he will still be “withdrawing the remaining United States service members from northeast Syria.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *